Arlene Malinowski - Writer, Actor, Teaching Artist

I believe that all of us have a story.
Our stories connect us to who we are
where we come from and who we can become.
Most importantly, I believe our stories connect us with each other.
In the sacred spaces of small theaters, talk over kitchen tables
and between the pages of the written word something happens to us.
We connect, and it is in that connection we discover
that that we all live the same lives in many different ways.
Through my work as a solo artist, writer and teacher it is my hope that we all learn to listen for the story.

 


Arlene Malinowski


A LITTLE BIT NOT NORMAL
With her trademark humor, Arlene confronts her own state of mind when Depression walks into her kitchen, lights a cigarette and makes himself at home. A Little Bit Not Normal is serious comedy about depression and naming it, claiming it and standing to be counted. It’s the journey of a love story tested and the secrets we keep about crazy.

Victory Gardens Theater, Chicago. Only 13 performances    CLICK for TIX

· Sat Apr 29 - 3:00pm · Sun Apr 30 - 7:30pm
· Wed May 3 - 7:30pm · Fri May 5 - 7:30pm
· Sat May 6 - 7:30pm · Wed May 10 - 7:30pm
· Fri May 12 - 7:30pm · Sat May 13 - 3:00pm
· Sun May 14 - 3:00pm · Sat May 20 - 7:30pm
· Sun May 21 - 7:30pm · Sat May 27 - 3:00pm
· Fri June 2 - 9:30pm

A LITTLE BIT NOT NORMAL
April 29-June 4. Extremely limited run. 12 shows only

UIC Master Class












News :

Production: “Yes, It Was”- One Minute Play Festival- Den Theater May 2, May 3

Advanced Solo Show & Story: Page to Stage- May 23 2017

Solo Show & Story Warrior Weekend class- August, 2017

Publication: Essay in "Airmail: Women of Letters Anthology" Penguin Press

Semi-finalist: American Blues Theater- Blue Ink Playwriting Award


Listen: “A Place So Far Down” featured at “Story Sessions” in Chicago

Click for New Huffington Post article

Click for Blog